Interview with The Wild Unknown

I officially gave into temptation and bought The Wild Unknown tarot deck this weekend. It is stunning. Simple and yet so rich. It says so much so succinctly.

I love the lack of people in the cards. Instead we see animals that so authentically represent the character of the cards it reaches right into my gut. With no faces to project or bring past baggage into, I feel like this deck lends itself to more open interpretation. I also love the renaming of the “Court” cards to family names: daughter, son, mother, father, though that still comes with genders.

The accompanying book has the same feeling as the cards themselves, simple, succinct, open to interpretation. I feel immediately connected to these cards. I feel an immediate kinship with the artist and author.

So I did an interview reading to see what the cards have to say to me right off the bat, using Little Red Tarot’s spread and oh girl, this deck is not playing around.

img_0068

1. Tell me about yourself. What is your most important characteristic? 8 of Wands
2. What are your strengths as a deck? 3 of Wands
3. What are your limits as a deck? Mother of Swords
4. What are you here to teach me? 8 of Cups
5. How can I best learn and collaborate with you? 2 of Pentacles
6. What is the potential outcome of our working relationship? 7 of Wands

Lots of wands and no Major Arcana, so that’s interesting to me right off the bat.

1. In the 8 of Wands, lightening strikes out of the blue, so I take this to mean this deck is here to jolt me out of my old ways of thinking. Since I’ve come to tarot with a lot of baggage, this seems useful and important. It’s as if the deck is saying, ‘you asked for it, and now we’re gonna do this.’ This deck isn’t going to hold back or be gentle. It’s going to give me stark truths. Which I am excited/scared about but also know is very good for me.

2. The guidebook says this about the 3 of Wands “The Three of Wands indicates you’ve had continued support from others… with their help, you’ve formed a sense of self, of your values and morals. But now it’s time to rely on yourself for guidance. Clarify your goals, and cast others’ needs and opinions aside. The future is infinite, and it is yours. No one else can see through its layers of light and shadow.” This is a message I desperately need right now. I struggle a lot with the confidence in my own perspective and opinions to trust myself. This deck is saying it’s going to help me with that.

3. The Mother of Swords is the card I find a bit confusing in this reading. Mother of Swords is sharp and perceptive, sort of all-seeing, but with potential to be critical. I think it means that this deck is more about emotion and feelings and big level ideas than intellectual quandaries and small details.

4. What is this deck here to teach me? The message in the 8 of Cups is clear: nothing can be salvaged from this, it’s time to move on. This hits me right in the feels. There is a lot I am striving to discard from my past. A lot of baggage I’m trying to let go of and move forward without carrying it around. I feel very deeply that this card, this deck is saying it’s time to stop “trying” and just do it. Let it go, there is nothing there for me anymore. Move on. Deep Breath.

5. The 2 of Pentacles is another card of change. In this deck, the card shows a butterfly with two Pentacles on her wings, bound by an infinity sign. The 2s are cards of balance, and the Pentacle family is ruled by the earth. How can I best collaborate with this deck? By coming to it in a grounded way, by seeking balance and harmony, and also change. By being open to transforming myself, like the butterfly, into something new and beautiful.

6. What is the potential outcome of my working relationship with this deck? The 7 of Wands has quickly become one of my favorite cards. Some people call it “the activist” card which rings very true to my heart. The guidebook says, “A single wand stands up tall, ablaze with light. The others fall away in shadows. Such is the story of the seven of wands. You’ll not find any strength or support from others, only yourself. It’s time to be truly courageous and stand up for your beliefs. You may feel overwhelmed with causation and fear, but your internal fire will guide the way.” I don’t think there is any card that could give me a greater sense of hope about the future than this card in this place.

I was surprised how visceral this reading felt, how strongly I felt the cards were trying to talk to me. I’ve been really enjoying my other decks, but I’ve been feeling like a freshman on the first day of high school, intimidated and shy, watching everyone around me and trying to take my signals from them to tell me what to do. With The Wild Unknown deck, I feels like that moment when you find your group of friends and you all sit and talk over each other because you have so much you want to say and hear and share.

So there’s The Wild Unknown tarot. Beautiful and powerful, I look forward to the many things this deck has to teach me.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

